Santa Ana:

714-571-0738  

Riverside:

951-276-9999



CALIFORNIA WORKERS COMPENSATION LAW


The California Workers' Compensation Reform Law is one of the new legislative changes in effect for 2013. The law has been revised to help save businesses money while offering more benefits to injured workers. If it is as effective as promised, system wide savings of $1 billion will be achieved annually. For injured workers, benefits will increase by $700 million.

Many workers are not fully aware of the old laws regarding workers' compensation, let alone the new changes to California's workers compensation when this information can directly affect them. For employers, it is equally important to be aware of your coverage, brush up on the requirements, and become familiar with how the new changes can affect your industry as a whole.

For Employees
The new reform will specifically increase benefits for workers who become permanently disabled as a result of work related activities. If you have been injured on the job you are entitled benefits covering your medical treatment as well as partial compensation for wages lost while recovering from your injury. If your employer does not have workers compensation coverage, you may file both a workers' compensation claim as well as a civil action against your employer. Every employer is required by law to carry workers' compensation insurance, and it is illegal for them to punish or discriminate against an employee filing a claim. You may report an employer who is illegally uninsured or if you believe they are involved with workers' compensation fraud.

Filing a claim can be a tricky process, but the sooner it is done, the more likely it is that you will receive your benefits without complications. Our attorneys specializing in workers' compensation can simplify the process for you, bringing years of experience to the table, and ensuring that you get the benefits that you are entitled to without unnecessary hassle. If you would like to file a claim, call our office to get in touch with an attorney who can assist you with the process. We work to help our clients get the benefits they deserve, so we do not charge any fees until your case wins.

For Employers
Every employer is required by law to carry workers' compensation insurance. In fact, all employers are required to post a notice to employee's in a conspicuous place where employees can see their coverage and easily obtain information on where to get medical care for work related injuries. If an employer fails to have workers' compensation insurance it is a criminal offense and a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of $10,000 and possible incarceration in the county jail for up to a year.

The new reformed workers' compensation law will help you save money. Rates for workers' compensation coverage will not increase this year as a result of the new reform, helping your business keep costs low while protecting you from expensive fines in case a claim needs to be made.

For more information regarding California's workers' compensation law, call our office. We would be happy to answer your questions and can clarify rules for compliance. If you need help determining if your should file a workers' compensation claim you may speak with one of our attorneys who can counsel you during your decision process and provide you with the details on how to proceed with filing a claim.

No fee ever, unless and until you win.


Contact us

For a free consultation with a Fontes Figueroa Law Group attorney, call (714) 571-0738 Orange County office or (951) 276-9999 Riverside Office.